• Thu. Jul 7th, 2022

    Political Talk Today

    Political talks and news

    Why Tinubu Should Be Disqualified From APC Primaries, APC Group Writes Court


    Jun 4, 2022

    Ahead of the All Progressives Congress Presidential Primary scheduled for Monday 6th June, some members of the party, under the aegis of the Gaskiya Youth Movement, have petitioned the Federal High Court in Abuja to disqualify the former Lagos Governor, Bola Ahmed Tinubu from contesting.

    Naija News reports that the request was made in a lawsuit filed before the Court with the case number FHC/ABJ/CS/774/2022.

    The first and second defendants are Tinubu and his political party, respectively, while the third defendant is the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

    They urged the court to determine whether Tinubu who has a questionable educational background and date of birth can participate in the primaries or that of any other political party.

    They also asked the court to declare that, based on the relevant law the national leader of the APC is not permitted to participate in or contest the primary election on the first defendant’s platform.

    The Abuja court was also asked to declare that given the questionable educational background and date of birth of the presidential aspirants, among other questionable issues, the APC “cannot allow and/or permit his participation in the primary election for the office of the president”.

    Meanwhile,  Tinubu would be meeting with all presidential aspirants from the South-West today, Saturday, June 4, 2022.

    The presidential hopefuls, Naija News understands are expected to hold a final meeting in Abuja today to reach a final resolution on the way forward ahead of the party’s presidential primaries.

    It was gathered that the Abuja home of a former governor of Ogun State, Chief Olusegun Osoba, would serve as the venue for the meeting scheduled for 8 pm on Saturday.

    Also expected at the meeting are governors Babajide Sanwo-Olu (Lagos), Dapo Abiodun (Ogun), Gboyega Oyetola (Osun) and Rotimi Akeredolu (Ondo). Some ministers of South-West extraction are also expected to attend the parley.

    This article was originally published on Naija News

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.