• Tue. Jan 19th, 2021

    Political Talk Today

    Political talks and news

    Lagos East Senatorial Bye-Election: Tokunbo Abiru Of APC Defeats PDP’s Gbadamosi


    Dec 6, 2020

    Tokunbo Abiru (left), Babatunde Gbadamosi (right).
    Tokunbo Abiru (left), Babatunde Gbadamosi (right).

    The candidate of the All Progressives Congress, Tokunbo Abiru, has emerged victorious in the Lagos East senatorial bye-election conducted in the state on Saturday.

    The Independent National Electoral Commission announced that Abiru obtained a total of 89,204 votes to defeat his closest opponent, Babatunde Gbadamosi of the Peoples Democratic Party.

    Tokunbo Abiru (left), Babatunde Gbadamosi (right).

    Gbadamosi secured a total of 11,257 votes to emerge second.

    Abiru won in all the five local government areas in the senatorial district.

    Candidates from 12 political parties contested the Lagos East Senatorial bye-elections while eight candidates contested the Kosofe Constituency II, Lagos State House of Assembly by-elections.

    See Also


    Political Marketing Agencies

    Nigerians React To Low Turnout In Lagos Bye-Election

    The contestants for the senatorial election are Muyiwa Adebanjo, Action Alliance; Ms Mercy Adeoye, African Action Congress, and John Kome, African Democratic Congress.

    Others are Adebowale Ogunlaru, Action Democratic Party; Adetokunbo Abiru, All Progressives Congress; Olusola Babatope, Allied Peoples Movement; Mrs Florence Trautman, Labour Party; and Ms Adijat Lawal, New Nigeria Peoples Party.

    They also include Babatunde Gbadamosi, Peoples Democratic Party; Akin Olukunle, National Rescue Movement; Saheed Aluko, Social Democratic Party and Taiwo Temitope, Young Progressive Party.

    The eight contestants for the Kosofe Constituency II bye-election are John Akerele, AA; Sadiq Olawale, AAC; Wasiu Saheed, APC; Adekunle Oladapo, LP; Muyideen Agoro, NNPP; Ademorin Adelaja, NRM; Sikiru Alebiosu, PDP and Mrs Mary Abojeh, ADC.

    The two bye-elections became necessary following the demise of the former occupants who were members of APC.

    See results in the five LGAs as reported by Punch newspapers.


    APC: 17,728

    PDP: 2,067


    APC: 22,213

    PDP: 1,826

    Ibeju Lekki

    APC: 16,336

    PDP: 937


    APC: 19,204

    PDP: 3,766


    APC: 13,723

    PDP: 2,661





    Original Author

    SaharaReporters, New York

    Disable advertisements

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *