• Wed. Jun 29th, 2022

    Political Talk Today

    Political talks and news

    Again, South West APC Leaders To Meet Osinbajo, Tinubu, Fayemi, Others


    Jun 2, 2022

    The leaders of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in the South West are set to meet with presidential hopefuls from the region to pick a consensus candidate.

    Naija News recalls that the first meeting of the South-West leaders which was held in Lagos on May 6 discussed unity among the Presidential hopefuls.

    It is understood that this meeting, which is the second edition, would be chaired by the former interim Chairman of the APC, Bisi Akande, and co-chaired by the former Governor of Ogun State, Olusegun Osoba.

    Other leaders of the ruling party expected at the meeting set to take place in Abuja include governors, ministers, and members of the National Assembly from the zone.

    It was gathered that the South West APC leaders would meet with the five presidential aspirants of the party in the zone in order to pick a consensus candidate, a chieftain of the APC told The Punch.

    He said the meeting will deliberate on the need for the South West to stand behind one aspirant to strengthen the chances of the region to produce the presidential candidate of the party.

    “We are waiting for the result of the screening. Once we have the final list of those who will be contesting, we will convene a meeting in Abuja on the matter,” he said.

    The presidential aspirants expected at the meeting include APC National Leader, Bola Tinubu; Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo; Governor Kayode Fayemi of Ekiti State; former Governor Ibikunle Amosun; Pastor Tunde Bakare; Deputy Majority Leader of the Senate, Ajayi Boroffice; and a former Speaker of the House of Representatives, Dimeji Bankole.

    Meanwhile, Governor Rotimi Akeredolu of Ondo State had said there would be a meeting of the South-West governors to present a consensus candidate.

    This article was originally published on Nigeria News

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.