• Wed. Jun 29th, 2022

    Political Talk Today

    Political talks and news

    Abaribe, Abdullahi Officially Resign As Senate Minority, Majority Leaders Respectively


    Jun 14, 2022

    The two Senate Leaders, Senator Enyinnaya Abaribe and Senator Yahaya Abdullahi on Tuesday, officially resigned from their positions in the upper chamber of the National Assembly.

    Naija News reports Abaribe resigned as the Senate Minority Leader while Abdullahi resigned as the Senate Majority Leader.

    Their letters of resignation were read during plenary by the Senate President, Ahmad Lawan.

    Both lawmakers resigned from their positions as principal officers following their defection from their political parties based on the outcome of the respective primaries in which they contested and lost.

    While Abaribe dumped the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) for All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), Abdullahi defected from the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) to the PDP.

    Reading the letter, “Senator Enyinnaya Abaribe decamped from the PDP to APGA. He also has resigned his position as Minority Leader of this chamber. With this, the position of the Minority Leader is vacant for the PDP to fill.

    “I wish our dear friend, Senator Abaribe, very successful membership of his new party. Now, we have APGA represented in the Senate in the person of Senator Abaribe just like YPP.”

    Also, Abdullahi in his letter said he dumped the APC because he didn’t get justice.

    “Politics is local. I can’t continue to work for the government at the centre while my people are wallowing in abject poverty.

    “After failing to get justice in APC, I have moved to the PDP,” Senator Abdullahi said.

    This article was originally published on Naija News

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.